Key dates in the Islamic Year 2019

Calendar 650 X 300The Islamic Calendar (or Hijri calendar) is a lunar calendar, meaning it depends on the movement of the moon. It consists of 12 months of 354 or 355 days, is not synchronised with the seasons and its dates repeat every 33 years.

Each new month is marked by the observance of a new moon seen for the first time. As visibility of the moon can vary, the dates below are subject to confirmation of an official sighting – although they will provide you with a good idea of when these key events are likely to occur:

• Ramadan: 6 May
• Eid al Fitr: 4 June
• Hajj: 9 August
• Eid al Adha begins: 11 August
• First day of Muharram and start of Islamic year 1441: 31 August
• Mawlid, also known as Mawlid ul-Nabi or The Prophet’s Birthday:
10 November

When did the Hijri Calendar begin?
The Islamic calendar began in 622 AD. Hijri is an Arabic word meaning ‘migration’ and 622 AD was the year in which Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) and his followers migrated from Mecca to Yathrib (now Medina) and established the first Muslim community (ummah).


You might also be interested in...